Skip to content

Reading order – the Dowser Series and beyond

January 16, 2015

I thought I better do some housekeeping before releasing Dowser 4, so this is the first in a couple of posts that will revolve around what is happening with the Dowser series and the universe at large.

I’m beginning to branch off from the Dowser series into other related series. The first of these branches is the Oracle series, which began in the already released I See Me and will span at least three books.


Every book I release in this (now) multi-series universe will continue the timeline of the universe as a whole. So, if you are the type of reader that likes to know every tiny tidbit about your favourite characters, I recommend you read all the books in order. I, of course, (read: the editor) will make sure that there are mini recaps of important events in the main Dowser Series novels, so you will not be completely lost if you prefer to only read Dowser books.

An example? Jade and Co do appear in I See Me, and Jade’s storyline does progress even though the book is about Rochelle. The events that occur in Oracle 1, set up some of the plot points of Dowser 4. The connection will be thinner in Oracle 2, but minor plot points will continue to inform the events of Dowser 5 and 6.

At the same time, the Oracle series (and the character of Rochelle) impacts the MAIN plot of Dowser 4 – 6. [I removed a spoiler here].

The recommended reading order is as follows:

Cupcakes, Trinkets, and Other Deadly Magic (Dowser 1)

Trinkets, Treasures, and Other Bloody Magic (Dowser 2)

Treasures, Demons, and Other Black Magic (Dowser 3)

I See Me (Oracle 1)

Shadows, Maps, and Other Ancient Magic (Dowser 4)

This summer, and through the fall, the reading order will expand with each book I release like so:

Maps, [spoiler], and Other [spoiler] Magic (Dowser 5)

I See You (Oracle 2)

[Spoiler], [Spoiler], and Other [Spoiler] Magic (Dowser 6)

[untiled] (Oracle 3)

Confused yet?

Then, depending on where the muse takes me later this year, my second branch from the Dowser Series will either be the Reconstructionist Series (with Wisteria and Kett), or a little something I have brewing for my favourite green-haired werewolf … or may be something else born out of Dowser 5.

This entire post was simply a long winded way of saying, if you want to know everything little thing about the Dowser universe, make sure you read I See Me (Oracle 1) before the about-to-be-released Dowser 4.

Cool. Next post I’ll talk about the trilogy structure of the Dowser series, which some eagle-eyed readers have already sussed out based on the title of Dowser 4.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: